Norrman Named Semifinalist for 2019 Division II Jack Nicklaus Award

Norrman Named Semifinalist for 2019 Division II Jack Nicklaus Award

AMERICUS, Ga. –- Georgia Southwestern golfer Vincent Norrman has been named a semifinalist for the 2019 NCAA Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol.

Norrman, who is currently ranked 11th in NCAA DII by Golfstat, recently finished third place at the NCAA DII South/Southeast Regional where he earned a spot to compete in the NCAA DII Men's Golf National Championship, May 20-24 in Daniels, W. Va. 

The two-time Peach Belt First Team All-Conference player has picked up four PBC Player of the Week awards. He also has five top-5 finishes this season, including a first place finish at the Hurricane Invitational, where he broke his own record, shooting a record low 13-under par.

The Stockholm, Sweden native currently leads the PBC with a 71.5 stroke average throughout 33 rounds of golf, playing in 11 tournaments. Norrman is also tied for third in the PBC, shooting a player-low of 66 (-6) during the second round of the Hurricane Invitational. 

Norrman is one of three representatives from the PBC on the 30-player Jack Nicklaus Award semifinalists list.

The Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced on May 30, with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Ohio. In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five winners across all divisions of collegiate golf will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA Tour's Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21 at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout is set for Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club's Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio – the same club where Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes.
A complete list of the Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award semifinalists is available below.

Mauro Baez, Flagler
Tyler Bakich, Barry
Will Barnett, CSU East Bay
Christian Bosso, West Florida
Dan Bradbury, Lincoln Memorial
Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
Alberto Castagnara, Saint Leo
Jake Doggett, Midwestern State
Jordan Doull, Columbus State
Morgan Egloff, Rollins
Tom Forster, Carson-Newman
Toto Gana, Lynn
Jorge Garcia, Barry
Emilio Gonzalez, St. Mary's (TX)
Devin Gregg, Sonoma State
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Matthew Hedges, CSU Monterey Bay
Zach James, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Samuel Jones, West Georgia
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern
Max O'Hagan, Florida Tech
Gonzalo Pan De Soraluce, Western New Mexico
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Kelley Sullivan, Chico State
Elis Svard, CSU Monterey Bay
Joel Sylvan, Missouri-St. Louis
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood
Jorge Villar, Lynn
Niclas Weiland, Barry
Zach Zediker, Delta State