Hurricanes Place 33 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Award List

Hurricanes Place 33 on D2 ADA Academic Achievement Award List

AMERICUS, Ga. -- The Division 2 Athletics Directors Association (D2 ADA) announced the 2018-19 recipients of the D2 ADA Academic Achievement Awards. The Academic Achievement Awards, in its 12th year, is a program that recognizes the academic accomplishments of student-athletes at the Division II level. Thirty-three Georgia Southwestern athletes were recipients of the Academic Achievement Awards for their work in the classroom this past season.

The following student-athletes from GSW received D2 ADA Academic Achievement Award for the 2018-2019 season.

Softball: Cassidy Burton, Kaylynn Church, Shannon Gibson, Madason Messer, Autumn Tripp, Chloe Zoeller, Jennifer Jernigan | Tennis: Charlie Allen, Kendal Crew, Celia Del Castillo Torres, Alexandria Rhodes, Beau Millwood | Baseball: Jared Donalson, Jacob Harrell, Tucker Smith, Tyler Summerall, Stewart Tyler, Jamison Wilks | Women's Soccer: Michelle Gustavsen, Leila Hamed, Alison Rugel | Women's Basketball: Kayla Smith | Cross Country: Connie Lewis | Men's Soccer: Chris Avery, Manuel Duran Gonzalez, Thiago Elias, Rafael Faria, Julian Rugel | Golf: Elias Birkeland, Wil Hernandez

In total, there were 11,660 student-athletes from 185 institutions recognized for the 2018-19 Academic Achievement Awards. This set the record for the most participation from institutions and the largest number of student-athletes being nominated. 

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution MUST BE a CURRENT dues-paying member of the D2 ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must:
• Have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale
• Have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work
• Have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year

A total of 352 Peach Belt Conference student-athletes graced the distinguished listing. Eight other league schools had student-athletes decorated with the honor.