Young Earns Freshman of the Year; GSW 10th At Conference Meet

Young Earns Freshman of the Year; GSW 10th At Conference Meet

MONTEVALLO, Ala. - Saturday was a history-making day for Jessi Young and her Georgia Southwestern women's cross country teammates at the Peach Belt Conference Championships. Young was named PBC Freshman of the Year and earned All-PBC Second Team honors in leading the Lady Hurricanes to a 10th place finish at the 12-team event. It was the first time in the history of the program that GSW topped two PBC schools in the regular-season finale.

Young crossed the finish line eighth out of 91 participants in a time of 23:11 on the 6k course. Young saved her fastest time for the most important race of the regular season, shaving 43 seconds off of her previous best and she toppled the best finish in program history by 40 places in the standings. Kelsey Baker finished the 2010 PBC meet in 48th place for GSW with a time of 28:30.

"Jessi had an outstanding race today," said GSW head coach Brittney Skiles. "I knew she would have a great meet; she has been improving every race this season."

For her efforts, Young earned the first PBC individual awards in program history and will be participating in the NCAA regionals on Nov. 3. 

"Jessi will be competing at the NCAA Southeast Regional meet in Charlotte," said Coach Skiles. "I am excited to see how she does."

Lisa Espino was second across the line for the Lady Hurricanes on Saturday finishing in 26:18 (56th).

Mollie McGowan eclipsed her personal-best 6k mark by 44 seconds with a 27:13. The three-year member of the Lady 'Canes finished 68th.

Linda Esparza was almost a minute faster (0:54) than her previous best with a time of 27:24 which was good for 72nd.

Nakora Mackey grabbed the fifth slot for GSW, crossing the finish line 82nd overall with a 29:10.

More honors came for GSW as Kaitlin Wilkinson was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

"All together, I was happy for this season and I am excited for the future of GSW cross country," said Coach Skiles.

Clayton State (63 points) edged Columbus State (70) for the team title.

Liva Mahaffie from UNC Pembroke crossed the finish line first with a time of 22:36.


Peach Belt Conference Championships
Montevallo, Ala.
Oct. 20, 2012

GSW Individual Results
8. Jessi Young, 23:11
56. Lisa Espino, 26:18
68. Mollie McGowan, 27:13
72. Linda Esparza, 27:24
82. Nakora Mackey, 29:10

Team Results
1. Clayton State (63 pts)
2. Columbus State (70)
3. UNC Pembroke (103)
4. Montevallo (113)
5. Georgia College (148)
6. Young Harris College (153)
7. Flagler College (164)
8. North Georgia (207)
9. Augusta State (236)
10. GSW (259)
11. USC Aiken (278)
12. Francis Marion (314)