Britsky signs eight for 2010-11

Britsky signs eight for 2010-11

Georgia Southwestern head women's basketball coach Kelly Britsky announced the Lady Hurricanes eight-member signing class for the 2010-11 academic year on Tuesday.

"We are extremely excited about the strength of this recruiting class," said Britsky. "They bring a lot of power and definitely extra scoring ability to the team."

The newcomers are: NCAA Division I transfers Tania Walters (Marshall University) and Cierra Duhart (Jacksonville State); Alabama Southern Community College transfer Jarra Arnold; Tallahassee Community College transfer Samantha Smith; Walters State Community College (Tenn.) transfer Shakira White; Tattnall Square Academy's LaConna Campbell; Marion County's Keyanna Hicks and Fitzgerald High’s Keyanna Mitchell.

"The transfers bring a lot of collegiate experience and we think the freshmen will contribute pretty quickly," Britsky said. "Overall, we are just extremely excited.

"We have high hopes for the season. We lost some really big scorers and some very important people off of last year's team, but I think we did a good job of bringing in new talent to fill those holes."

Here’s a look at the signees:

Jarra Arnold (5-9, G/F, Jr., Camilla, Ga.)
Averaged 14 points and six rebounds per game before falling to a season-ending injury in the 2009-10 campaign for the Lady Eagles. Scored a season-high 20 points against Pensacola Junior College on November 10, 2009 and grabbed a season-best nine rebounds on two occasions.

LaConna Campbell (5-6, SG/PG, Fr., Macon, Ga.)
Averaged 16 points, five assists and five steals on a Lady Trojans team that finished the season 26-4, won the Region 2AAA championship and advanced to the GISA Final Four. Campbell was the team MVP and received All-Region and All-State honors.

Cierra Duhart (6-0, F, Jr., Hawkinsville, Ga.)
Averaged 11.2 points and 7.8 rebounds per game while shooting 57 percent from the floor in her freshman season. Duhart was named to the 2007-08 Ohio Valley Conference All-Newcomer Team and was a two-time OVC Freshman of the Week. Last winter, she appeared in 13 games. Duhart scored a career-high 23 points against Murray State on December 18, 2007 and pulled down a career-best 15 rebounds against Eastern Illinois on January 31, 2008. She posted three double-doubles while at Jacksonville State.

Keyanna Hicks (5-7, G, Fr., Buena Vista, Ga.)
Averaged 14.1 points, 6.3 rebounds and 3.1 assists while shooting 41 percent from behind the arc. She was selected All-Subregion 2B-A First Team for the Lady Eagles.

Keyanna Mitchell (5-9, SF, Fr., Fitzgerald, Ga.)
Averaged 20.5 points, 12 rebounds, four assists and five steals per game for the Hurricanes. Mitchell was named the team MVP and received the Coach’s Award.

Samantha Smith (5-11, F, Jr., Washington, N.C.)
Played in all 29 games and shot 53 percent from the floor for a talented Lady Eagles team that finished 20-9 last season. Smith appeared in 25 games and made 17 starts as a freshman. She was named to both the Panhandle Conference and FCCAA All-Academic teams.

Tania Walters (5-0, G, Jr., Toronto, Ontario)
Appeared in 28 of the Herd’s 30 games last season while starting eight contests. Averaged 20 minutes of action per game and led the team with a total of 35 steals. Walters appeared in 31 games as a redshirt freshman in 2008-09 and started 10 contests. She finished second on the team that year with 36 steals.

Shakira White (5-10, F, Jr., Jasper County, S.C.)
Played in 54 games over two seasons for the Senators during a span where WS posted a 63-7 record, won back-to-back NJCAA Region VII championships and was crowned back-to-back TJCCAA State Champions.

The Lady ‘Canes are coming off a 12-16 campaign, a dramatic improvement from the 1-26 overall record posted just three years ago. Southwestern won seven conference games last year, up three wins from 2008-09 and the most in a season in four years of NCAA Division II competition. In addition, GSW made its first postseason appearance in women's basketball, eventually falling in the Peach Belt Conference Tournament to Georgia College, the West Division's No. 1 seed, by a point in overtime (60-59).

GSW opens the 2010-11 season at Albany State on November 16.