Griffin named All-PBC

Griffin named All-PBC

FLORENCE, S.C. - Georgia Southwestern senior Nichole Griffin was named to the 2011 Peach Belt Conference softball All-Conference first team on Thursday evening at the annual PBC Softball Championship banquet. 

Griffin led the Lady Hurricanes in most offensive categories this spring, including: batting average (.368), runs (30), hits (56), triples (4), total bases (81), slugging percentage (.533), and on-base percentage (.451).

While she ranked in the Top 10 of the PBC in several of the categories above for overall statistics, Griffin's numbers were even higher in conference play. She finished second in on-base percentage, third in walks, fourth in batting average and fourth in hits.  

The Leesburg, Ga., native started and played in 48 of GSW's 50 games. She started 29 games in center field, 18 at shortstop and one game as the designated player.

Armstrong Atlantic's April Jowers was named the PBC Player of the Year while North Georgia's Jessica Cohn was the Pitcher of the Year. USC Aiken pitcher India Kornegay was the Freshman of the Year while North Georgia's Mike Davenport was named the PBC Coach of the Year.

The 2010 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2011 Peach Belt Conference Softball All-Conference Team

First Team

1b – Katherine Martin, North Georgia

2b – April Jowers, Armstrong Atlantic State

3b – Hilary Cox, North Georgia

SS – Kasey Knight, North Georgia

C – Ashley Buckett, Armstrong Atlantic State

OF – Shelby Duff, Armstrong Atlantic State

OF – Destinea Schneider, Francis Marion

OF – Nichole Griffin, Georgia Southwestern

P – Jessica Coan, North Georgia

P – Sarah Phillips, North Georgia

DP – Haley Burnett, Georgia College

UT – Kristen Jones, Augusta State

At Large – Kara Gordon, Columbus State

At Large – Brittany Sheriff, Lander

At Large – Jessica Thornton, Augusta State

At Large – Morgan Staffins, Columbus State

Second Team

1b – Breezy Collings, Flagler

2b – Alona Personius, Flagler

3b – Baillie Temples, Armstrong Atlantic State

SS – Kacee Camp, Augusta State

C – Anna Parker, Georgia College

OF – Whitney Okvist, Georgia College

OF – Ansley Williams, North Georgia

OF – Pilar Harden, North Georgia

OF – Destiny Echols, Augusta State

P – Megan Barnwell, Armstrong Atlantic State

P – India Kornegay, USC Aiken

DP – Keela Scott, Armstrong Atlantic State

UT – Holly Berry, UNC Pembroke

At Large – Kelly Riddick, Flagler

At Large – Tori Jolley, Flagler

At Large – Lauren Bessent, Flagler

At Large – Hayley Leissner, Lander

At Large – Ashley Jaramillo, Francis Marion

Player of the Year

April Jowers, Armstrong Atlantic State

Pitcher of the Year

Jessica Coan, North Georgia

Freshman of the Year

India Kornegay, USC Aiken

Coach of the Year

Mike Davenport, North Georgia