Men's tennis team earns PBC Team Sportsmanship Award

Men's tennis team earns PBC Team Sportsmanship Award

The Georgia Southwestern State University men's tennis team was recently named the Peach Belt Conference Team Sportsmanship Award winner by the conference office for the 2009 men's tennis season.

The awards program, which includes honoring one team from each of the league's 12 championship sports, will also recognize one institution with the ‘Institution of the Year Sportsmanship Award.' This is the first year of the awards program.

The program presents an award following each championship season to the team in that sport that best exemplifies the spirit of sportsmanship and generally conducts themselves with a high degree of integrity, character and class. The team award is selected by other teams who compete in that sport.

PICTURED: The 2009 GSW men's tennis team (back row, left to right) junior Allen Hinkle, junior Brenton Hochstetler, junior Andrew McElveen, sophomore Chase Woodall, freshman James Wilder-Smith, (front row) freshman Christopher Clarke, senior Brent Bjerregaard, freshman Rashad Carson, junior Chris Pollock and head coach Brennon Sewell.

PHOTO BY: Chris Fenn