Norrman Caps Season with All-America Honors

Norrman Caps Season with All-America Honors

AMERICUS, Ga. - Georgia Southwestern State University men's golfer Vincent Norrman received NCAA Division II PING All-America honorable mention today from the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Norrman turned in a very successful sophomore campaign in 2017-18 as he led the Hurricanes with a 71.55 stroke average that ranked third in the Peach Belt Conference. He finished in the Top 5 in half of the 10 events he participated in, was named the PBC Golfer of the Week on March 1 after winning the Hurricane Invitational and was named to the PBC All-Tournament Team after finishing third at the conference championships on April 15. Norrman closed out the spring with a 2-over par 215 at the NCAA Division II South/Southeast Regional to finish tied for 19th place out of 108 golfers.   

The Stockholm, Sweden native broke the GSW 18-hole scoring record with a Round 1 score of 64 (8-under par) at the Hurricane Invitational. He followed that up by breaking the 36-hole scoring record by two strokes with a two-round score of 134 (10-under).

Norrman was also a semifinalist for the 2018 NCAA Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award and a member of the Division II PING All-Region Southeast Team.

GSW has placed six golfers on the All-America list over the past seven seasons. Norrman joins Ethan Chamineak (2016, 2017), Nick Ward (2015), Nate Gahman (2013), Craig Gibson (2012) and JP Griffin (2012) as Hurricane golfers to receive the honor.

Below is the list of 2018 NCAA Division II PING All-America honorees.

First Team

Chandler Blanchet, West Florida
John Coultas, Florida Southern
Emilio Gonzalez, St. Mary's (TX)
Zach James, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Colin Prater, CU-Colorado Springs
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
John VanDerLaan, Florida Southern
Henry Westmoreland IV, West Florida

Second Team

Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
Toto Gana, Lynn
Jorge Garcia, Barry
Jacob Huizinga, West Florida
Carlos Leandro, Newberry
Max O'Hagan, Florida Tech
Conor Richards, Lander
Manuel Torres, Lynn

Third Team

Chris Crisologo, Simon Fraser
Austin Gean, Arkansas Tech
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Brett Krekorian, Limestone
Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood
Niclas Weiland, Barry
Zach Zediker, Delta State

Honorable Mention

Tyler Bakich, Barry
Christian Bosso, West Florida
Alberto Castagnara, Saint Leo
Tanner Comes, CU-Colorado Springs
Thomas Forster, Carson-Newman
Josh Gardella, Colorado Christian
Evan Gfeller, North Greenville
Johnson Holliday, USC Aiken
Oliver Lilliedahl, Saint Leo
Finlay Mason, Nova Southeastern
George Markham, Colorado School of Mines
Graham McAree, Indianapolis
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern State
Axel Östensson, USC Aiken
Minwoo Park, Concordia (NY)
Sam Parrott, Central Missouri
Zack Sims, Holy Names
Spencer Skiff, Newberry
Elis Svard, CSUMB
Gaelen Trew, Florida Tech
Gideon van der Vyver, Columbus State
Will Woodard, Limestone