Norrman Named DII Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalist

Norrman Named DII Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalist

AMERICUS, Ga. -- Georgia Southwestern State University golfer Vincent Norrman has been named a semifinalist for the NCAA Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award.

Norrman, a First Team All-Conference selection, leads the Hurricanes with a 72.22 stroke average this season and took medalist honors at the Hurricane Invitational in February while recording five Top 5 finishes this fall/spring. He was named the PBC Golfer of the Week on March 1 after winning the Hurricane Invitational at 10-under par.

A native of Stockholm, Sweden, the Peach Belt All-Tournament Team honoree Norrman is currently ranked as the 28th-best player in the country and is No. 10 in the Southeast Region. Norrman finished tied for third at the Peach Belt Conference Championship played at the Slammer & Squire course in St. Augustine, Fla.

Norrman broke the GSW 18-hole scoring record of 65 previously shared by Craig Gibson and Michael Harris with a Round 1 score of 64 (-8) at the Hurricane Invitational. He followed that up by breaking the 36-hole scoring record of 136 the next day that was previously held by Adam McKenny, shooting a two-round score of 134 (-10).

Division II finalists for the award will be named May 17. Nicklaus Award recipients will be announced May 31 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club.


Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

Chandler Blanchet, West Florida
Alberto Castagnara, Saint Leo
Chris Crisologo, Simon Fraser
John Coultas, Florida Southern
Tomas Gana, Lynn
Jorge Garcia, Barry
Emilio Gonzales, St. Mary's (TX)
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Johnson Holliday, USC Aiken
Jacob Huizinga, West Florida
Zach James, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Brett Krekorian, Limestone
Carlos Leandro, Newberry
Vincent Norman, Georgia Southwestern
Max O'Hagen, Florida Tech
Axel Ostensson, USC Aiken
Colin Prater, CU-Colorado Springs
Conor Richards, Lander
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Spencer Skiff, Newberry
Nick Stafford, Belmont Abbey
Elis Svard, CSUMB
Manuel Torres, Lynn
John VanDerLaan, Florida Southern
Gideon Van Der Vyver, Columbus State
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood
Henry Westmoreland, West Florida
Will Woodard, Limestone
Han Xue, Florida Tech
Zach Zediker, Delta State