May Madness

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The NCAA released the field for its Division II Men's Golf NCAA Tournament on Friday. The Georgia Southwestern Hurricanes, along with five other Peach Belt Conference programs, were given postseason births in the NCAA Division II South/Southeast Regional in Conover, North Carolina. The Blue & Gold will join UNC Pembroke, USC Aiken, Armstrong Atlantic, Georgia College and Columbus State as PBC members competing in the NCAA's regional play. It marks the first NCAA Tournament berth in Georgia Southwestern Golf history.

Georgia Southwestern had a banner year as the team took home numerous awards throughout the year. These accolades were highlighted by the team's All-Conference awards, including Craig Gibson (First Team All-PBC), J.P. Griffin (Second Team All-PBC) and Head Coach Andrew Danna (Peach Belt Coach of the Year) all garnering awards. Gibson was also named to the Peach Belt All-Tournament team earlier this month, which also saw the Hurricanes finish in sixth in the conference championship.

The Hurricanes and company will play May 7th – 9th at the Rock Barn Golf & Spa in Conover, N.C.  The event will be hosted by Lenoir-Rhyne.  The 'Canes are just one of 80 teams participating in the NCAA Tournament, but they will look to finish in the top five of the twenty teams in the South/Southeast Regional in order to qualify for the Super-Regional round of play. If they do so they will play May 15th – 19th in Louisville in the NCAA National Championships.

For more information on all teams and individuals that qualified for the South/Southeast Regional, click here.