Rawls receives PBC honors

Rawls receives PBC honors

Georgia Southwestern senior Chris Rawls was recently named to the 2009-10 Peach Belt Conference men’s basketball All-Conference team.

Rawls, a preseason All-PBC selection, led the Hurricanes in scoring, rebounds, blocks, field goal percentage, free throw percentage (20+ attempts) and minutes played.

The Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. native posted double-figure points 22 times in his senior campaign, double-figure rebounds six times (a team-high) and six double-doubles (a team-high and third most in the PBC).

Rawls was the ‘Canes leading scorer 13 times this season, to go with a team-high 19 games as the leading GSW rebounder.

He posted a career-best 28 points at Francis Marion on January 16 and holds the Peach Belt’s top two slots for most free throws made in a game this season with 16 against Augusta State on January 28 and 14 at Francis Marion (1/16).

In addition, Rawls finished the regular season near the top of the PBC in several overall categories, includ­ing scoring (eighth), rebounding (eighth), field goal percentage (12th), and free throw percentage (12th).

Over his two-year career with the Hurricanes, Rawls scored 770 points and pulled down 390 rebounds. He made an astounding 313 free throws while appearing in 53 games.

The entire 15-member 2009-10 PBC All-Conference team is listed below team as selected by the league’s head coaches. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2010 Peach Belt Conference
Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team

First Team
Fred Brathwaite, Augusta State
Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Freddy Little, Montevallo
Graham Martin, GCSU
Alex Smith, Augusta State

Second Team
Simel Boyd, Francis Marion
Byron Faison, USC Aiken
Michael Moynihan, North Georgia
Robert Murry, Clayton State
Chris Rawls, Georgia Southwestern

Third Team
Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
D.J. Ferguson, Flagler
Ty Rowland, GCSU
Patrick Shokpeka, Armstrong Atlantic State
Chris Telesford, Columbus State

Player of the Year: Ben Madgen, Augusta State
Defensive Player of the Year: Daniel Dixon, Augusta State
Freshman of the Year: Shahmel Brackett, UNC Pembroke
Coach of the Year: Dip Metress, Augusta State