GSW Baseball's Blue-White Series set for this weekend

GSW Baseball's Blue-White Series set for this weekend

AMERICUS, Ga. – The Georgia Southwestern baseball program's eighth annual Blue/White Series will be played on Friday, November 4th and Saturday, November 5th.  This inter-squad series will be played in a best of three games format.

Friday: Game 1 – 6:00 PM at Hurricane Field

Saturday: Game 2 – 2:00 PM at Hurricane Field, Game 3 – (If necessary) immediately after Game 2 at Hurricane Field

A player draft was held between the Blue and White team earlier this week to finalize rosters with all of the program's newcomers.  The roster for the 2011 Fall Classic will be:

The Blue Team holds an all-time lead in the Blue/White Series (5-2). After losing the first two games to the White team, the Blue team has won the series the last five consecutive seasons.


Blue Team                                                                           vs.                                          White Team  

Justin Lott (P)                                                                                                                    Frank Ambrosino (P)

Beau Parker (IF)                                                                                                                Ryan Mosley (P)

Cameron Blinn (P)                                                                                                             Corey Benson (OF)

Daniel Lackey (P)                                                                                                               Dylan Folds (1B/P)

Chase Burnfin (P)                                                                                                              Gabby Ramirez (C)

Chase Young (C)                                                                                                               Tyler Daniel (P)

Lane Dixon (1B/OF)                                                                                                           Michel Coffey (OF)

John Duran (IF)                                                                                                                 Andrew Archer (OF)

Zach Moss (OF)                                                                                                                 Andrew Anderson (IF)

Logan Holland (C/OF)                                                                                                        Matthew Suggs (P)

Gray Carden (P)                                                                                                                Les Cromer (IF)

Jarrod Taylor (C)                                                                                                               Hunter Thompson (P)

Kyle Nobles (IF)                                                                                                                 Travis Holmes (C)

Matt Weaver (P)                                                                                                                 Michael Sneed (C)

Trent Franzago (P)                                                                                                              Blane Parker (SS/2B)

                                                                                                                                         Bray Bishop (P)

                                                                                                                                         Devyn Newberry (OF)

For the third consecutive year, the losing team will have to man a charity car wash. The Car Wash raises money for the Sumter County Little League Baseball Scholarship Program, which assists children financially, whose families can't afford little league registration fees.

This year's Car Wash will be held on Saturday, November 12th from 10 AM to 3 PM at the parking lot separating the GSW Baseball and Softball fields. The program is asking for $3 per car, and they will also be taking donations. All proceeds will go straight to the Sumter County Little League Baseball Scholarship Program.