Coffey and Benson named All-Peach Belt

Coffey and Benson named All-Peach Belt

Georgia Southwestern outfielder Michel Coffey and designated hitter Corey Benson were named to the 2011 All-Peach Belt Conference Second Team as announced by the PBC on Saturday night at a banquet in Columbus, Ga., on the eve of the league's championship tournament at Golden Park.

Coffey, a sophomore from Dublin, Ga., started all 48 games this spring for the Hurricanes and led the team in several categories, including: batting average (.360), hits (73), total bases (89) and stolen base percentage (.857). His 20 multi-hit games were a team best and he ended the season on a 10-game hitting streak. Coffey finished the regular season ranked third in the PBC in hits and 11th in batting average.

Benson, a freshman from Loganville, Ga., started 47 games for GSW in 2011. He was the team leader in slugging percentage (.440) and home runs (4). Benson compiled 12 multi-hit games, as well as seven-game and six-game hitting streaks during the spring. He finished the season with three or more hits in two of the last four games and was named PBC Freshman of the Week on Apr. 25. 

For the first time, the conference awarded co-Players of the Year for Francis Marion's Buddy Sosnoskie and Georgia College's Shawn Ward.  The honor for Sosnoskie was the start of a big night for FMU, which swept all the major award with Don Sandifer named the Pitcher of the Year, Michael Wilson the Freshman of the Year and Art Inabinet the Coach of the Year.  It is the first time in conference history that one program has received all four award, the closest anyone has gotten previously was Kennesaw State who won the Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year honors in 2002.

The 2011 All-Conference team is listed below as selected by the league's head coaches.  Due to a tie at first-team utility player, the size of the first team was expanded by one.  There was also a tie at second-team catcher.

2011 Peach Belt Baseball
All-Conference Team

First Team

1b – Preston Shuey, Francis Marion
2b – Austin Dubberly, Montevallo
3b – Bruce Alter, Columbus State
SS – Tanner Funk, Georgia College
C – Richard Pirkle, Georgia College
OF – Kenny Bellavance, North Georgia
OF – Ryan Lewis, Columbus State
OF – Buddy Sosnoskie, Francis Marion
OF – Shawn Ward, Georgia College
DH – Cameron Scott, Columbus State
UT – Jason Coker, UNC Pembroke
UT – Nate Fudala, Flagler
SP – Thomas Campbell, Columbus State
SP – Blake Hobby, North Georgia
SP – Don Sandifer, Francis Marion
SP – Scott Shipman, Augusta State
RP – Braxton Lewis, UNC Pembroke

Second Team

1b – Heath Peterson, Montevallo
2b – Jeff Rice, Augusta State
3b – Drew Walker, Armstrong Atlantic State
SS – Stephen Carmon, USC Aiken
C – John Roberts, Armstrong Atlantic State
C – Troy Snitker, North Georgia
OF – Michel Coffey, Georgia Southwestern
OF – Josh Haley, UNC Pembroke
OF – Chris Ross, Montevallo
OF – Keith Whitman, UNC Pembroke
DH – Corey Benson, Georgia Southwestern
SP – Mike Guinane, Georgia College
SP – Jeffrey Stoner, Francis Marion
SP – Scott Strickland, Armstrong Atlantic State
SP – Brian Willlis, UNC Pembroke
RP – Jacob Rickett, North Georgia

Co-Players of the Year
Buddy Sosnoskie, Francis Marion
Shawn Ward, Georgia College

Pitcher of the Year
Don Sandifer, Francis Marion

Freshman of the Year
Michael Wilson, Francis Marion

Coach of the Year
Art Inabinet, Francis Marion