66 GSW student-athletes named to PBC Presidential Honor Roll

66 GSW student-athletes named to PBC Presidential Honor Roll

AMERICUS - The Peach Belt Conference announced Tuesday afternoon that 1,137 student-athletes have been named to the 2011-12 Presidential Honor Roll with a total of 66 Georgia Southwestern student-athletes earning the honor, a 1.5 percent increase for GSW from last year's total.  

The Hurricane baseball team placed the greatest number of student-athletes on the list with 13. The men's and women's soccer programs had 12 members apiece recognized. Women's tennis and softball followed with six apiece.

With only eight student-athletes on its roster, the women's tennis team led all GSW programs with 75 percent of the squad named to the Presidential Honor Roll. Below is a list of the top five programs according to percentage of their roster receiving the PBC honor:

Rank Sport Percent of Athletes on Honor Roll
1 Women's Tennis 75.00
2 Women's Cross Country 57.14
  Women's Soccer  
4 Men's Soccer 48.00
5 Men's Tennis 45.45

The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 13 PBC member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00.

Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2011-12 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:

Gold Scholars (10): Brittney Hill (Women's Soccer), Katie Mueller (Women's Soccer), Hanah Swinson (Women's Soccer), Milos Kleut (Men's Basketball), Evan Mobley (Men's Basketball), Matthew Vansant (Men's Tennis), Evgeniy Vinogradov (Men's Tennis), Gabby Buck (Softball), Erik Haygood (Men's Soccer), Mollie McGowan (Women's Tennis and Cross Country)

Silver Scholars (12):  Melinda Vansant (Women's Tennis), Les Cromer (Baseball), Tyler Daniel (Baseball), Daniel Lackey (Baseball), Julia Wells (Women's Soccer), Stephen Moore (Men's Tennis), Christopher Eastwood (Men's Tennis), Ian Andre (Men's Basketball), Brittny Dennison (Softball), Christoper Campos (Men's Golf), Tom Andre (Men's Soccer), Jon-Luke Cannada (Men's Soccer)

Bronze Scholars (15): Carly Cangelosi (Women's Tennis), Ginny Jones (Women's Tennis), Jessica Rigdon (Women's Tennis), Bray Bishop (Baseball), Jarrod Taylor (Baseball), Zada Hyatt (Women's Soccer), Chelsea Givens (Softball), Erin Vick (Softball), J.P. Griffin (Men's Golf), Travis Oestmann (Men's Golf), Frank Ambrosino (Baseball), Michael Morgan (Men's Soccer), Lauren Brown (Women's Cross Country), Micah Bucher (Women's Cross Country), Lisa Espino (Women's Cross Country)

Presidential Scholars (29): Holly Craig (Women's Tennis), Corey Benson (Baseball), Chase Burnfin (Baseball), Lane Dixon (Baseball), John Duran (Baseball), Logan Holland (Baseball), Michael Sneed (Baseball), Jessica Bivins (Women's Basketball), Matt Suggs (Baseball), Amber Bahri (Women's Soccer), Allyson Canganelli (Women's Soccer), Amanda Canganelli (Women's Soccer), Gracie Preston (Women's Soccer), Carolann Simpson (Women's Soccer), Courtney Simpson (Women's Soccer), Jennifer Starvetsky (Women's Soccer), Tyler Gunnett (Men's Basketball), Ryan Bartz (Men's Tennis), Avery Purser (Softball), Kiley Doster (Softball), Peter Lee (Men's Golf), Jason Getreu (Men's Soccer), Kevin Huet (Men's Soccer), Cade Jones (Men's Soccer), Seth Landis (Men's Soccer), Joshua Manga (Men's Soccer), Shane McKay (Men's Soccer), James Romaniw (Men's Soccer), Ryan Wakenigg (Men's Soccer)