Another School Record as 103 Student-Athletes on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

Another School Record as 103 Student-Athletes on PBC Presidential Honor Roll

AMERICUS, Ga. -- Georgia Southwestern State University placed 102 student-athletes on the 2017-18 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll released Thursday afternoon by the league office. This year's mark eclipses the previous school record of 84 honorees set in 2015-16.

"We are extremely proud of these student-athletes," GSW Associate Athletic Director Christie Ward said. "Their dedication to their sport and to their academic excellence never ceases to amaze me. They are truly committed to embracing the Division II model of Life in the Balance, and it is clearly displayed by how they excel not only on the field or court, but also in the classroom."

The Hurricane baseball program had the largest number of student-athletes on the list with 21. Men's soccer was four shy of the leader with 17 honorees.

The softball team led all GSW sports with the highest percentage of its roster on the Presidential Honor Roll after posting a 21 percent increase from last spring. Below is a list of the top five programs in 2017-18 according to the percentage of its roster receiving the Peach Belt honor:

Rank Sport Percent of Athletes on Honor Roll
1 Softball 94.1%
Men's Tennis 87.5%
3 Women's Tennis 85.7%
4 Men's Golf 83.3%
5 Women's Cross Country 71.4%


The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes all student-athletes at the 12 Peach Belt member institutions who had a GPA of 3.0 or higher for the academic year. It was announced Thursday that 1,473 student-athletes had earned the recognition.

The honor roll has been divided into four groups: Presidential Scholars, Bronze Scholars, Silver Scholars and Gold Scholars. All student-athletes with a GPA from 3.0 to 3.24 are Presidential Scholars while Bronze Scholars are 3.25 to 3.49; Silver 3.50 to 3.74 and Gold Scholars are those with a 3.75 to 4.00. 

Listed below is the complete list of GSW academic honorees in the 2017-18 Peach Belt Conference Presidential Honor Roll:

Gold Scholars [21]: Silvio Polly (Men's Soccer), Thiago Elias (Men's Soccer), Mercedes Benites (Women's Soccer), Jessica Bingham (Women's Soccer), Ellie Cook (Women's Soccer), Michelle Gustavsen (Women's Soccer), Bri Reda (Women's Soccer), Sholeh Rezaee (Women's Soccer), Haley West (Women's Soccer), Mitch Holloway (Baseball), Matt Hubbard (Baseball), Jamison Wilks (Baseball), Tucker Smith (Baseball), Wil Hernandez (Men's Golf), Graysen Sanders (Softball), Autumn Tripp (Softball), Luke Eafano (Men's Tennis), Kendall Crew (Women's Tennis), Celia del Castillo (Women's Tennis), Ashley Denby (Women's Tennis), Anneliese Leahy (Women's Tennis).

Silver Scholars [26]: Shatyriah Crawford (Women's Soccer), Courtney Ostrus (Women's Soccer), Jeremiah Barnett (Baseball), Jared Donalson (Baseball), Jared Jones (Baseball), Josh Logan (Baseball), Dakota Long (Baseball), Colton Perkins (Baseball), Kyle Spinks (Baseball), Ryan Cahill (Men's Golf), Elias Birkeland (Men's Golf), Cale Mainor (Men's Basketball), Colt Yawn (Men's Basketball), Amanda Melosky (Women's Basketball), Connie Lewis (Women's Cross Country), Ashleigh Owens (Women's Cross Country), Manuel Duran (Men's Soccer), Lucas Kimmel (Men's Soccer), Uriel Rodriguez (Men's Soccer), Josh Swift (Men's Soccer), Cassidy Burton (Softball), KayLynn Church (Softball), Allee Denney (Softball), Madason Messer (Softball), Hayley Tierce (Softball), Mikela Barlow (Softball).

Bronze Scholars [27]: Leila Hamed (Women's Soccer), Shelbie Mills (Women's Soccer), Alison Rugel (Women's Soccer), Jason Baita (Baseball), Hayden Martin (Baseball), Stewart Tyler (Baseball), Adrianne Brown (Women's Basketball), Mickell Greene (Women's Basketball), Whitney Young (Women's Basketball), Katherine McGarr (Women's Cross Country), Savannah Ross (Women's Cross Country), Caleb Zolman (Men's Soccer), Chris Avery (Men's Soccer), Trevor Dempsey (Men's Soccer), Dylan Marshall (Men's Soccer), Daniel Mendsen (Men's Soccer), Julian Rugel (Men's Soccer), Jonathan Sayers (Men's Soccer), Chris Steinwachs (Men's Soccer), Brittany Childs (Softball), Shannon Gibson (Softball), Christina Wells (Softball), Elizabeth Wills (Softball), Chloe Zoeller (Softball), Steven Blythe (Men's Tennis), Alex Canovas Ferrando (Men's Tennis), Bryon Robley (Men's Tennis), Alex Rhodes (Women's Tennis).

Presidential Scholars [28]: Rachel Cochran (Women's Soccer), Ella Hawkins (Women's Soccer), Avery Heid (Women's Soccer), Kaily Short (Women's Soccer), Kole Clark (Baseball), Jacob Harrell (Baseball), Bradley Hough (Baseball), Austin Langford (Baseball), Jonathan Martin (Baseball), Brooks McDonel (Baseball), Devin Shea (Baseball), Nix Duncan (Men's Golf), Vincent Norrman (Men's Golf), Devin Watson (Men's Basketball), Kris Beckham (Women's Basketball), Kya Cochran (Women's Basketball), Shanya Jones (Women's Basketball), Erica Day (Women's Cross Country), Zay Harris (Men's Soccer), Jean-Pierre Merlet (Men's Soccer), Divin Moke (Men's Soccer), Lauren Kuerzi (Softball), Hannah McCain (Softball), Payton Singletary (Softball), Johnathon Martin (Men's Tennis), Beau Millwood (Men's Tennis), Justin Ralston (Men's Tennis), Maria Taboada (Women's Tennis).